BBB build (car audio) thoughts from you all.

hi everyone,
im not sure if ive posted it correctly but i hope you can forgive.
first up total newb to the BB, but really interested to try and cant wait to dive in.

i have seen a few ideas/projects posted for BBs in a car stereo environment and i would like to see a working project.
so that’s my plan and im just going over it in my head at the moment. i have had a cursory look around the net but cant really see any methods of a full implementation.

now i’ve jumped the gun and gone and purchased 2 BBBs not sure if they are the right tool for the job, in a worst case they will be my dev pilots.

so as i see it working out in my head i see a plain old lcd touch screen. split (somehow not sure yet) audio and video. hooked into a BB with a battery cape with a script running to shut down the system when the car powers off.

from the hdmi out i think i would need to run the video to the lcd. of course.
and the audio to the amp, which i think will be battery powered (possible) and from the amp to the speakers. how i split it off i haven’t thought yet. maybe a mini hdmi to vga/audio would look pretty ugly though.

things to consider

hardware
battery powered amplification, separate.
battery cape.
touchscreen.
hdmi out to video/audio split

software

enlightenment 17 desktop/gui
Linux OS build from scratch (maybe maybe, i’d love to write a kernel from scratch but might be a time waster if angstrom is up to the task)

nice to have

gps 3g/4g mobile card / sim card for streaming. :slight_smile: anyone have any ideas or thought around this? a sim card would be best but that would kind of turn it into a phone, not that i mind. mobile broadband its a bit pricey where i am.
not sure if it’s easily done i wouldn’t have thought so.

concerns
power draw and conversion from old car stereo
not very flexible in the space i can use, it’s a car dash after all.