BBB GPIO and parallel output of more pins

Hi everyone,

i need to use a group of pins (up to 8 pins) to output a value in a certain range but i wonder if there is a way to be sure that all output pins are set at the same time.
Otherwise i would have an unspecified output value during the transition between a value to another. I read somewhere that is possible set an entire bank instead
of a single pin, maybe using PRU ?
I would be very grateful if someone could address me to solve this problem.

Thank you.

Did you ever find out how to do this? I have the same requirement and can’t seem to find an answer as to how to do this

Yes, but for me the simplest way was using a port expander (i used MCP23008) through I2C Interface, very simple to handle with BBB.

Hi,

Ok Robert, i will try to explain how i solved my problem, apologise me if something is not clear but i am not an expert and i beg anyone to correct me if i say something wrong.
I2C is a serial protocol and is fully supported by BBB so you can set output pins (8 pins) of MCP23008 setting a chip’s register once the chip is connected and initialized. When you set your output serial data all chip’s output pins are set at the same time (because there is an internal synchronized register).

So, if you need to set 4 pins with 1101 you can set chip’s register with 00001101 value e then you find the value 1101 at the chip’s output pins.

You don’t need to set your GPIO to use the MCP23008 because P9_19 (CLK) and P9_20 (SDA) are already set to work with I2C protocol (at least in debian Wheezy) and all you need is assign an unique address (connecting address pins to GND or VCC) to every MCP23008 chip you connect to these pins (is a bus).

Take a look at these links, i think i started from there :

http://embedded-lab.com/blog/?p=2834

http://www.gigamegablog.com/2012/11/04/beaglebone-coding-101-i2c/

Pretty funny that there are 2 Robert Berger’s with the same question!