[beagleboard] Beagleboard, Ubuntu Wireless Issues

Hi Robert,

Sorry if this message comes through twice, I’m new to Google groups and I cannot tell if my post is simply taking a while or if it was not actually received (using email this time so I’ll have a record).

I’m running the 2.6.29-oer36 kernel. Plugging it in before or after boot does not seem to have an effect.

I’d also like to amend my previous email; In the best case the card will mount as USB0 but normally it does nothing. I tried several tests (results appended to this email) in an attempt to determine under what conditions it becomes available as USB0 but could not get it to appear even once (Although I did manage to cause a few kernel panics that I have saved and don’t know what do do with).

As for building it as a module instead of into the kernel; are there any disadvantages to moving all wireless drivers out of the kernel and into modules? From a functional stand point, I don’t understand the difference.

Please let me know if there is any more info you need or if I can help in any way. I’ve never built a kernel and this whole was meant to be (and has been) a good learning experience.

Thanks,
Christopher Prevoe

P.S.
All trials done through ttyS2 (serial) and a Dynex powered usb 2.0 high speed hub
uname -a: beagleboard 2.6.29.4 #2 Thu Jun 4 23:24:08 UTC 2009 armv7l GNU/Linux
To ensure the hub is not the issues, a 500mb flash drive is plugged into the hub and it showed up as /dev/sda every time
It is notable that the hub provides power to all devices even when the hub is not plugged into a computer (bb or desktop)

Trial 1: Device plugged into hub at boot up

• lsusb does show the device as present
  • ifconfig -a does not show the device at all
  • Removing and replacing the device has no effect.

Trial 2: Device not plugged in at boot, hub plugged in at boot, once booted, log in then use hub

• lsusb shows the device as present
  • Removing the device then replacing it has no effect