[beagleboard] OMAP Multiplexing on Expansion Header

Hello all,

I am fairly new to the BeagleBoard and I was hoping if someone could answer a couple of questions. I’m trying to connect a couple of devices to the expansion headers. I would appreciate the help.

1. Are the columns in table 17 from the hardware reference manual mutually exclusive? For my project purposes, I need to be able to utilize 12 lines for GPIO and the two lines for the I2C protocol. In other words, can each pin be independently set up for either option A, B, C or D from table 17?

2. It is my understanding that any signals going in or coming out of the expansion header must be 1.8 V, otherwise the board will be damaged. Can anyone confirm this? If so, are the I2C signals coming out of the OMAP3450 adequately configured to 1.8 V?

3. For the input signals going into the GPIO ports, is there a quick and easy way to reduce these signals from 5V to 1.8 V without much hassle? Is it even necessary to do so?

I would appreciate any feedback on any of these questions.

Thank you,

Daniel A. Sosa
University of Texas at El Paso

dasosa@miners.utep.edu wrote:

Hello all,
I am fairly new to the BeagleBoard and I was hoping if someone could answer a couple of questions. I'm trying to connect a couple of devices to the expansion headers. I would appreciate the help.

I can answer one of them, but other people are handling hardware, which I guess doesn't teach me as much ;^)

1. Are the columns in table 17 from the hardware reference manual mutually exclusive? For my project purposes, I need to be able to

Each pin can be independently configured as you like - but remember there are errors in the table (pins 6 & 10, at least). Download sprufa6a (system control module) from TI's omap3530 site.

Refer to the OMAP3530 Technical Reference Manual. http://focus.ti.com/docs/prod/folders/print/omap3530.html