BeagleBone A4, Angstrom v2012.01, Sitara DCAN driver?

Was trying to play around with the CAN bus a bit. I'm new to the
subject. My BeagleBone is Revision A4 and I'm running the Angstrom
v2012.01 demo image.

Reading http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php/Sitara_DCAN_Linux_Driver
it seems the d_can driver in the linux kernel should work. Indeed I
can find that driver, and the tools, in the Angstrom repository. The
modules load succesfully but no can0 or can1 device is detected.

Is this to be expected, is there a firmware problem or something? Any
clues on what to do to get the can buses detected? dcan1 pins do seem
to be accessible in the expansion ports, dcan0 might be problematic
because of I2C2 and what the manual says at 8.1.2.

-Bert

PS lsmod and dmesg below

Module Size Used by
can_raw 4431 0
d_can_platform 2053 0
can_bcm 8379 0
can 19911 2 can_raw,can_bcm
d_can 6017 1 d_can_platform
can_dev 6783 1 d_can
g_ether 27893 0
ipv6 209417 16

[ 4016.030296] CAN device driver interface
[ 4034.279638] can: controller area network core (rev 20090105 abi 8)
[ 4034.279913] NET: Registered protocol family 29
[ 4146.456791] can_raw: Unknown parameter `can-bcm'
[ 4294.029535] can_raw: Unknown parameter `can-bcm'
[ 4309.493601] can: broadcast manager protocol (rev 20090105 t)
[38351.879251] CAN bus driver for Bosch D_CAN controller 1.0
[38703.370323] can: raw protocol (rev 20090105)

Was trying to play around with the CAN bus a bit. I'm new to the
subject. My BeagleBone is Revision A4 and I'm running the Angstrom
v2012.01 demo image.

Reading http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php/Sitara_DCAN_Linux_Driver
it seems the d_can driver in the linux kernel should work. Indeed I
can find that driver, and the tools, in the Angstrom repository. The
modules load succesfully but no can0 or can1 device is detected.

Is this to be expected, is there a firmware problem or something?

The platform data is not initialized yet, I'll take a look at that next week when the CAN cape arrives