[Beaglebone] Save serial data onto the memory

Hi,

I am trying to save the data received onto the memory card and I need some pointers to that since I am completely new to this.
I configured the mux modes of UART1 and UART2 to act as recievers. Right now what I am doing is using minicom to monitor the data received from those pins. I just run the minicom application on board and the board is connected to computer via USB. The serial data received through pins is being displayed on the screen.
Instead I want to just store the serial data obtained through pins onto the memory of beaglebone. Can anyone please give me pointers on how to do that?
If I want to store the data as a text file how would I do that?

Thanks
sudhir

use the pipe command

google linux pipe command

'Command | tee filename' or 'command >> filename' (sans quotes).

Brandon

Pardon me for being ignorant but the data is not from executing any command. A particular pin has to be constantly monitored and whenever data comes through it, that data has to be stored or appended to some file. How do I do that on Beaglebone?
If the question is not beaglebone specific, can you please direct me to materials/links which can help.

Thanks!

You will need to create a program that reads the serial ports and either dump it to a file or the console
if it dumps it to the console use the pipe commands to store it to a file

have you ever written a program before ?

this can be done in C, C++, java,python,basic ect.

I would expect that you can “cat /dev/ttywhatever > filename” after the serial port parameters are setup, but I have never tried it.

The question is very incomplete:

By serial interface you mean what?
      A normal RS232 interface?
      An I2C interface?
      An SPI interface?
      A CAN interface?
      A very high speed serial interface?
      An 1-wire interface?

What is the data rate?

After knowing that and the voltage levels required, you can design the interface with the BBone.