Can't connect to https://beaglebone.local and SSH to my board.

Hello Everyone!

I just got my very first BeagleBoard, the BeagleBone Black. I am new to the world of microcontrollers and embedded programming so please forgive me if I say/ask anything stupid. I look forward to learning a lot from you guys, but now on to my problem . . .

I was following the instructions beginning with START.htm and I got to the section where it shows how to SSH over to the board. The problem is that I can’t seem to connect. I clicked the link that was supposed to direct me to https://beaglebone.local (https://192.168.7.2/) but I just get a message from Chrome saying the webpage is not available. I’m not sure where to begin troubleshooting on this. The board is detected when I go to the START.htm page, but I can’t figure out why it won’t connect to beaglebone.local. I was wondering if there was a way to check connectivity with Putty, maybe?

Has anyone had this issue before when they first started with the board and, if so, how did you resolve it? Thanks in advance for any help on this! :slight_smile:

BeagleNoob,

There are several ways:

1. Buy a router (unless you already are using one) and plug the beaglebone black Ethernet port into the router, and your pc into the router also and the router to the house Ethernet port. Then off the internet download the Advanced Port Scanner from Radmin (its free). Use the Radmin to scan your network for the BBblack device and to see
    what Ethernet address the router has assigned to it. Then sudo ssh to that address and not the 196.168.7.2. You need to tell or set in the Radmin port scanner and
    range of address to scan like 192.168.2.1 to 192.168.2.255 or like 192.168.40.1 to 192.168.40.255. I guess the third number really depends on if you are at home or at work and you know the range of addresses that the main server will chose. You will know the BBB address because it will show two open ports, with port number 22 ssh.