Contributing to Beagleboard as well as GSoC

Hello everyone,
I am a 3rd year student purusing engineering on Computer Science. From the past two years, I have been working with arduino and robotics. I have knowledge of digital electronic circuits as well. I want to contribute to beagleboard. Recently, I have purchased a beagleboard and I am learning bonescript now. I went through the GSoC ideas page and found the PRU Bridge project interesting. I have intermediate knowledge of C like interprocess communications, multithreading, sockets etc and I have good knowledge of NodeJs. I have already implemented backend of a website using NodeJs. I need help in contributing to beagleboard.

Hello Amulya,

Google Summer of Code is all about how you can can help and contribute to the community. So it’s your initiative to take up an idea that you like and chart out a timeline as to how you can make the most of the 3 months coding time to implement it. That would also play a role in selection of prospective students.

The PRU Bridge would have two components - a kernel mode part and a userspace API. Also go through the idea just below it, titled “PRUSS Support for newer kernels”. These two ideas have significant overlap so try to come up with how they can best be implemented. There is a list of design guidelines given as well.

I suggest you get started with PRU and Linux kernel programming as soon as possible. The idea requires significant work so as mentors we expect that the prospective students should be familiar with the operation of the PRU and kernel programming in C. Have a look at the previous year projects, especially BotSpeak and BeagleLogic because the PRU related work this year will build upon them.

You are welcome to join us on #beagle-gsoc (irc.freenode.net) for further discussions.

Nice to meet you Amulya,

As Abhishek said, a few things you could do is

1. Talk to mentors on beagle-gsoc (Me, Abhishek or Alexander Hiam)