Customizing BBB Angstrom Kernel?

Hi friends,

Total newbie here, so forgive me.

I’m trying to add functionality to iptables so I can use the BBB as a ad-hoc “router”, sharing it’s Ethernet connection with others.

From what I’ve gleamed so far I need to add that functionality by recompiling the kernel.

So following the links at http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/ i cloned the setup-scripts.

MACHINE=beaglebone ./oebb.sh config beaglebone

MACHINE=beagleboard ./oebb.sh update

. environment-angstrom-v2013.06

bitbake -c menuconfig virtual/kernel

I then change the options I need, but when I built it made a zImage file… Which confuses me.

Now what I don’t understand is that the image I want should be based off the regular systemd image.

• bitbake systemd-image

How do I update the kernel configuration from the systemd image without just building the regular image?

A step-by-step explanation would be awesome, cause I’ve never customized/built the linux kernel before.
I also do not have a serial cable yet. Is this necessary for running a custom kernel? Do options in u-boot need to be changed?

I’m sure I’m asking all the wrong questions, but would really appreciate some help!

Here are the options that I need:

Networking  ---->
 Networking options  ---->
  Network packet filtering framework (Netfilter)--->
   Core Netfilter Configuration ---->
    <*> Netfilter connection tracking support
    <*> Netfilter Xtables support (required for ip_tables)
    <*>   "NFLOG" target support
    <*>   "conntrack" connection tracking match support
    <*>   "state" match support
   IP: Netfilter Configuration --->
    <*> IPv4 connection tracking support (required for NAT)
    <*> IP tables support (required for filtering/masq/NAT)
    <*>   Packet Filtering
    <*>     REJECT target support
    <*>   Full NAT
    <*>     MASQUERADE target support
    <*> Packet mangling