Debian Jessie USB drive problem

I recently bought a BBG for use as a tiny NAS and print server. I installed a Debian Jessie image (for BBB) and ran updates. All X stuff was removed to save space and Samba installed.

When I plug in the external USB disk it is recognised and /dev/sda1 appears. I added this to /etc/fstab:

UUID=F250C93950C904F7 /mnt/usbdrive ntfs-3g exec,noatime,nofail 0 0

This seems to work, the drive is mounted at boot time:

/dev/sda1 on /mnt/usbdrive type fuseblk (rw,noatime,user_id=0,group_id=0,allow_other,blksize=4096)

However, after a random period of time and without touching the USB bus, the drive suddenly switches to /dev/sdb1. This is while the drive is online and an IP camera is continuously recording to it. Needless to say, it all comes to a sudden halt, as /dev/sda1 disappears.

This must be something I am doing wrong. I have some experience running Linux systems as servers, but never had to deal with USB. I thought that perhaps the drive going to sleep when idle was a problem, so I hooked it up to my laptop and turned the sleep function off. It didn’t help.

Thanks for any light you may be able to shed on my problem.

Kind regards,
Peter.

What is the reason for the nofail option in /etc/fstab?

Any reason you can’t format the drive as ext4? I’ve seen articles claiming serious performance benefits for USB drives as ext4 instead of ntfs.

I’m doing similar on a Raspberry Pi2 with Jessie and have had no such issues, but I have a weird one in that the system immediately crashes back to “emergency” mode if I try to run it headless (no mouse/keyboard).

Is the USB drive powered separately or from the USB bus? It could be a power glitch issue as I don’t think the Beaglebones can supply a lot of USB power.