Debian + Resizing Partition

Hello
I recently flashed the BeagleBone Black 2GB eMMc card with Debian version 2014-05-15 and resized the partition using “fdisk”. The BBB will crash after about 10 minutes of operation. I’d like to be able to boot via the eMMc and use the space on the SD Card as part of the eMMc partition. Does anyone have the steps documented as I may not be completing the resizing correctly. Carefull, I’m a newby and only speak English; not Linux!
Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Mike

Mike,

Not to worry, with practice your Linux will improve, just as your English has with practice and use. In both cases we all start with zero competency as a complete newb. As for the steps, I asked the same question not long ago here on this list. here’s a link to the question and answer in the list archive.

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/beagleboard/TKqSh4VFW_E

note, the pre rev c black has only 2GB of flash onboard which the image pretty well fills the Flash as is.

All the best with your venture into Linux, best OS out there!

Eric

Mike,

Just reread your question again. Note, the onboard eMMc is pretty well filled by the standard image as was referenced by the following query to the list.

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!searchin/beagleboard/Out$20of$20space$20immediately$20after$20flash/beagleboard/etpYcY6aHHc/ceNDm_15s8YJ

What you want to do in reality though is not so much resize the eMMC partition (though, I’d still use the provided tools to make as much space there as you can) as use the SD card to add space to your filesystem.