ELinux BeagleBoardBeginners modification?

Hi,

I started playing with a beagleboard C4, so I followed the steps described in the eLinux wiki for beginners.
I believe that in the last part (“setting up the boot args”) it’s necessary to clarify that when the beagleboard boots from the sd card, the uboot used is the one in the sd card (the current version of u-boot), so it’s not necessary to setenv the bootargs and bootcmd; I think that it’s also necessary to write that if you accidentally did a saveenv, you can restore the default values for bootargs and bootcmd for a revC board using ‘nand erase 260000 20000’

A question: I don’t have a digital monitor at hand, so is it possible to see the booting process/console in the serial channel?

best regards,
Pedro

Hi,

I started playing with a beagleboard C4, so I followed the steps described in the eLinux wiki for beginners.
I believe that in the last part (“setting up the boot args”) it’s necessary to clarify that when the beagleboard boots from the sd card, the uboot used is the one in the sd card (the current version of u-boot), so it’s not necessary to setenv the bootargs and bootcmd; I think that it’s also necessary to write that if you accidentally did a saveenv, you can restore the default values for bootargs and bootcmd for a revC board using ‘nand erase 260000 20000’

Pedro, elinux.org is a community wiki. If you have useful information that should be added, please feel free to add it. Please ensure you’ve verified the information through thorough testing first. Also, I’ve read that section again and I’m not sure your addition would clarify or actually make the explanation more confusing, but perhaps that’s just me.

A question: I don’t have a digital monitor at hand, so is it possible to see the booting process/console in the serial channel?

Yes, the kernel boot messages are normally output to the serial console. If you’ve booted your board, I assume you’ve likely discovered this already.

Hi Bill,