Equivalent of PRU on main CPU

Hello everyone,

I find it a pity that the PRU runs only at 200 MHz and not at the full 1 GHz. I was wondering if there exist any linux distributions (or not linux at all) which allow to run real-time code on the main CPU. Of course, this would have to disable all linux features that are not explicitly implemented in the code, but in many cases I think that could be desirable. Has anyone ever done something like that? I guess it boils down to using an extremely minimized kernel / completely removing the OS and only running the necessary stuff, but I am by no means an expert in low-level linux programming and was wondering if there exists some code out there which would make it easier for me to start with.
In the end, I would like to use more powerful instructions of the main CPU such as floating point arithmetics and the higher speed to implement PRU-like functionality for DSP in real-time.

Thanks in advance!

rt linux: https://rt.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/Main_Page

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install linux-image-4.1.3-ti-rt-r7
sudo reboot

but your going to find, the pru is just faster and more deterministic...

Regards,

Lenny,

Hello, so no hands on but I have read about several technologies you may be interested in.

First, TI’s starterware, and bare metal should be possible - for this hardware.

Also, you could directly run an executable from uboot, which is the first( second ? ) stage bootloader for the beaglebone official debian images.

Thirdly . . . remoteproc could be used on a dual core processor to run a / the second core baremetal while the first core runs Linux. Or, so I think I’ve read.

There are also RTOS’s out there, and TI does have TI-RTOS i think its called. But not sure if it is capable of running on the sitara processors or not. In other words I would think it could, but have not looked into it.