General Questions about BBB

I’m considering buying a BeagleBone Black and because (what a suprise) I’m also a noob, so I decided to ask…

-Can BBB run any Linux distro which supports ARMv7? This is very unclear to me: why there are many 3rd party Linux ARMhf-images by Robert Nelson? Isn’t the normal Linux kernel ok? There are also prebuild Ubuntu/Debian images. Why couldn’t we just download the “real” installation image (like ARM-Ubuntu) and install it?

-Is it possible to use 1-wire with BBB (with GPIO-pins or with USB-adapter)? Software support (I prefer Python :slight_smile: )?

-How about I2C-sensors, like https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9570 ?

-Do USB-port-hubs work?

-Is BBB good at minimal HTTP-server if assuming there is little traffic?

-Finally, would you recommend RPi or BBB for a beginner who is not totally inept?

Thank you!

Yes. The Processor is a V7 architecture.
Yes
Yes. Definitley.
Yes Some we have found don’t but all that I have tried do.
Yes. In fact it runs that way out of the box.
Hmmmmm…well, not that I am biased in any way…BBB!

Now, for some light reading. Go to http://circuitco.com/support/index.php?title=BeagleBoneBlack http://beagleboard.org/Getting%20Started

There is a lot of information there.

Gerald

First of all.armhf roughly translates to hard float on arm, or . . . hardware floating point. This is a good thing. Mostly armhf is a Debian name only, and big surprise since Robert Nelson works with Debian type distro’s . . . uh, yeah there you have it.

Secondly, I think (someone correct me here if I am wrong ) the “real” installations images are not specifically meant for embedded system applications. These types of images should work though. The BBB does support many different 1-wire, I2C, SPI, and UART devices. It also has some things such as the on processor PRU too.