GSoC:2015 Requesting Guidelines

Hello Everyone,

I am an Undergraduate in Integrated Computer Engineering. I love hardware level programming and willing to propose a project for GSoC 2015. Many project ideas on BeagleBoard GSoC page are interesting. But I narrowed down them to three. Here are them according to my preference.

1. BeagleRT: Real-Time Linux with the BeagleBone Black

2. MMC and DMA Linux performance

3. Common bootloader for different all the BeagleBone/BeagleBoards

The reason to choose those three is because I get the thrill of working hardware level and the experience of working in Linux. I want to choose a one from those projects and I really need to get accepted because this is a real opportunity to get my hands on BeagleBoard for free(Otherwise it is not affordable). Here is a small description about myself.

What I’ve got

I have theoretical knowledge in software process, design patterns, circuit theory, digital electronics and other Engineering concepts. Previously I have worked with micro controllers (mostly microchip and Atmel AVR series) and with few development boards including Arduino, RaspbeyyPi and Basic. I’ve been using ‘java’, ‘C++’ for high-level programming and ‘C’ and a little bit of assembly for low-level programming. PHP and JavaScript are my favourites for web development. Also I tried Linux shell programming a long ago. I’ve been using Intellij, CodeBlox, MpLab IDE, AtmelStudio as IDE s, Dia for documentation, Git for version controlling, Junit4 for TDD and JTag for Hardware Level debugging.

First of all I need to find answers for following questions to choose a project.

What I need to Know

• I need to get an idea about the project scope before I propose. I must say that I’m not a mastermind but a hard worker.I can spend 3 to 4 hours per day for the project in week days and up to 15 hours in weekends and holydays. Will that be sufficient to complete the project successfully?(Specially Real-Time Linux project)