GSoC Android boot system

Hello community!

My name is Vlad Ungureanu, curently student at Jacobs University, Bremen. My major is Computer Science and I’m class of 2015. I was more active on the #beagle-gsoc under the nickname vvu. I worked on my proposal for the Android boot based system. The goal is to partially boot a BeagleBoard from an Android device and afterwards use the Android device(tablet/phone) as a touchscreen/monitor to have some video output.

The system will work like this:

• On the MMC/eMMC there will be the x-loader, u-boot,a linux kernel and a binary which will serve as communication between the board and the android device via ADK. The booting procedure works until the kernel from the internal storage is loaded.

• At this point the binary is ran and the final kernel that will be ran on the board and the filesystem are requested from the phone.

• The new kernel is exchanged using kexec with the new one and then it finished the booting procedure using the fs that was copied at the previous step.

If there is a requirement to have a kernel and application already on the board, what is the real point of downloading a new kernel to kexec? What is the additional functionality that’d be enabled that couldn’t/shouldn’t be preloaded?

• Until now we have a fully functionally BeagleBoard but with no video output. To overcome this issue the Beagle will run a daemon that will get the ouput of the framebuffer and will send it to the Android device over ADK.

This does sound like a nice feature. Running X11 on a phone doesn’t seem like it’d have a great user experience. Would you be running a framebuffer without X11 and able to run something like Qt apps? What type of applications would you really create? Personally, I’d find simply using a web server on the board and running a UI in the web browser on the phone to be a simpler UI development solution.