GSOC Mentor Summit

The Google Summer of Code Mentor Summit is set for October 23-24 in Mountain View, CA. This is a weekend-long event to help Google evaluate the year’s projects and figure out what to do better next year. Google has some funds to pay for lodging and travel. If you are interested and can plan to be in California that weekend, please let me know. I am going to do my best to be there.

thanks

Jeff

Hi Jeff,

I’m considering going there, but I was of the impression, that Google would invite persons specifically? Can everybody apply?

Have you been there previously? Any idea what it’s about – In more detail that what can currently be found on the homepage?

In case I decide to go I will try to make it fit some other arrangements in CA as well, since going for a weekend from Denmark seems like quite a long trip J

Best regards

Søren

This is my first year as a mentor so I haven’t attended in the past. It is my impression that they are still working out details over the next few weeks - the only detail I have found is here:

http://gsoc-wiki.osuosl.org/index.php/2010

with info from past years on that same wiki here:

http://gsoc-wiki.osuosl.org/index.php/Main_Page

I’ll keep in touch with Carol Smith and find out.

Hi Søren,

I found out from Google that we have $2000 in travel money available, with the philosophy being that that would enable two mentors to come at $1000 each. My travel expenses are nowhere near that, as I live within driving distance of Google HQ, so if you want to come to the summit and can find plane fare, I think we can easily work something out.