HDMI issue

A newbie here… Just got a new BBB rev C. and am having HDMI issues. I am able to boot it by after I get into X the monitor (Dell 1907) goes into powersave mode. I have tried also rebooting w/out the HDMI to VGA converter plugged in and then plugging in the cable. I get the graphical display for about 5 seconds and then it goes into power save mode again. It doesn’t appear I can turn this off power save on the monitor, can I do this on the board itself or other ideas?

Thanks,
Steve

So is "hdmi" or is "vga"... because "analog" isn't in the hdmi spec..
There are "aftermarket" adapters to do it..

Regards,

Can you plug it into a TV?
It will detect the capabilities of the monitor / TV it is plugged into.
It may be trying to output a resolution / refresh frequency the monitor can’t handle, but the TV will be at a lower resolution.
At least you will be able to see the screen.

Answering both questions and thanks for the responses.

I purchased a micro HDMI to VGA converter on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00879EZJI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) and it seems to work fine. I can see the system briefly at boot up as well as when it goes into X but after about 5 seconds the display goes into powersave mode. I’ll have to look and see if I have a VGA port on any of my TV’s, otherwise, I don’t have an adapter.

I am able to SSH into the system using the USB cable and my Macbook. Is there a way I can set it to a low resolution that both BBB supports and the monitor. I tried modifying the uEnv.txt file per the BBB HDMI support wiki but then I saw that’s only for the boot sequence. Is there another way to force this?

Thanks again,
Steve

Try connecting to the TV without the VGA adapter.
Hopefully your TV or VCR has HDMI inputs.
Most modern monitors have HDMI inputs too.
The idea is to get it up and visible so you can adjust the resolution to a lower one you know the VGA can handle.