How do I clone eMMC to another BBB

Hi,

I am having some issues cloning the Beaglebone Black. I write the internal flash to a USB to uSD adapter using dd then boot it, but it loses its networking. There’s no eth0. Any help?

Thanks,

-Tom

1. which distro is on the bbb.
  2. what is the output of dmesg |grep eth
  3. are these BBB’s running simultaneously on the same network ?

more information is needed.

Hi,

Debian Wheezy.

dmesg output:
[ 1.554997] usbcore: registered new interface driver cdc_ether
[ 2.622588] cpsw 4a100000.ethernet: NAPI disabled

They are not plugged in at the same time. One at a time. The Ethernet lights are on BTW. But no eth0.

Thanks,

-Tom

we’re using Wheezy here too but I’ve yet to run into this problem. Perhaps this could be udev related but I am not an expert here, Robert C Nelson may know a bit more here.

The only thing that comes to mind aside from udev is that perhaps if using a static IP the other “older” BBB is knocking the new device off the network.

Perhaps as a test you can modify /etc/network.interfaces to use static ip’s Then see what happens.

err —> /etc.network/interfaces

Udev I would say - whenever you clone a machine the hardware is different and by default adds another udev rule. You probably find you have eth1 rather than eth0. Easy enough to fix - just need to edit the file, delete all the rules, reboot and you should have eth0 back again.

I’m also trying to clone a BBB to another (with the default Angstroem distrib). If you succeed, could you please post a short how-to? The easiest is probably to list all commands you have executed without much comments - like mounting the SD-card reader etc?
Thanks Philipp

By default with my images, i add this little rule to udev:

(/etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules)
# BeagleBone: net device ()
SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0",
ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"