How many cameras could the BBB handle at once?

I’ve been playing around with my BBB for a couple months now and I love it. I’ve currently got it set up streaming video to my website 24/7.

I’m now wondering how many USB cameras I could reasonably expect to use on this thing at one time, because I want to set up a sort of improved IP camera system. Essentially I want to create a networked array of HD cameras, so I’m trying to decide which SBC would be able to reliably record 720p or 1080p video from as many cameras as possible. The cameras need to run 24/7, detect motion, perform some CV tasks (using opencv, presumably), and save the resulting clips to a NAS, or even just to a USB hard drive.

So let’s say I want to set up an array of 720p30 cameras and record and process video from them. Using a USB hub, would the BBB handle 2, 3, or even 4 cameras? What if the frame rate was 60 fps? Or what about 2, 3, or 4 1080p30 cameras?

I’m just trying to get a feel for how capable the BBB is, or if I should look toward a different, more powerful SBC.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer!

Remember, usb is a shared resource. With only one port on the BBB,
depending on how much bandwidth the first camera takes will let you
know how many you can have plugged in.

Regards,

Thanks Robert,

As a side note, thank you for all the help you provide people here and elsewhere. I haven’t been very active in this group, but I’ve been subscribing and reading for a while. I guess the phrase “Long time listener, first time caller” would be appropriate.

Anyway, USB 2.0 will transfer at 480 Mbps (in the best case) which is twice the bandwidth I’d need to run four 1080p30 cameras streaming MJPEG at approximately 60 Mbps, or roughly four times the bandwidth I’d need for 720p30.