How to edit the Booting process on Beagleboard XM

I have posted this in combination with other threads recently with no help.

BACKGROUND:

I am building an audio amplifier with digital effects using Matlab and Simulink. This is a senior design project for UT and we need to have it finished by may 3.

PROBLEM:

I need to be able to access the uboot file or something and edit it to run my audio program automatically after the board boots.

As of right now I have to connect the board to my host computer and run the file but that will not be acceptible because the audio amplifier must be completely stand alone (obviously). I am very new to linux and programming so anyone who can help would be greatly appreciated. I have been looking everywhere for a tutorial that will help me but I can’t find one. I can access the board with putty but I don’t know how to find and edit the boot from there. Also, I plug the sd card into my host computer but I can not edit the uboot image because it is an image, not a text file. PLEASE HELP

Wes

There are several ways to run a script at bootup, also depending on
the distribution you use. If you want to run a script as user (not as
root) then you might want to add a crontab job:
# crontab -e
and then add a line:
@reboot /path/to/myscript >> /path/to/my.log 2>&1
For more information see man crontab.

Another way to add a bootscript is to to use sytemctl, see eg
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11152657/angstrom-start-up-processes-beaglebone

Thank you for your response.

I am running simulink on the board which changes the firmware to ubuntu (whatever that is) so the angstrom boot will not do i don’t think. So what I gather I need to do is just type # crontab -e into the command window and @reboot /path/to/myscript >> /path/to/my.log 2>&1 somewhere into whatever shows up (replacing the myscript with whatever my scripts location is)? I’m really sorry but I’m not too good at this.