How to figure out the minimal set of services for an embedded Beaglebone Black app on Debian Wheezy

Hello all,

Is there a good resource (besides this list! :slight_smile: that would help me understand what to remove/disable from the stock Debian Wheezy distro, on a BeagleBone Black, to arrive at a barest-minimum/rock-solid setup to run a dedicated app, as an embedded device?

Background:
Iā€™ve developed a C++ app for the Bbb, which I intend to sell as a headless, embedded device that only runs this app when turned on. The Bbb, with a Debian/Wheezy distro, arrives as a much more general purpose device with a lot of services/options that arenā€™t needed, and to keep the system lean and mean, and as reliable as possible, arenā€™t desired.

I am a seasoned software developer, but donā€™t know a whole lot about overall linux system configuration.
I understand systemctl, but in many cases I donā€™t know how to pick which services are needed for my use case.
Also, are there things besides services I should consider disabling? (eg Device Tree overlays?)
Is there any system maintenance that I would need to worry about over the long term (years/decades) to keep the device reliably up and running ā€œforeverā€?

Fwiw, my app does the following:

• acts as a specialized, single purpose webserver that serves up a web app on a particular address/port communicating with it using websockets

• based on interaction with the web app, sends information out some GPIO pins (in my case, installation control signals)

• when (optionally) connected to the internet, hits a live server to check for available updates (if found, download it)

• maintains the watchdog timer to self-reset in case of problems

To facilitate this, and also retain bare-bones remote access to the device (for remote troubleshooting/config), the system

• has a wifi USB dongle that creates a private network serving the web app

• fires up a DHCP server allowing easy connection on the private network