How to use i2c or spi in Cloud9/javascript?

I’m not sure how the original author of Bonescript intends to support i2c/spi, but I know at least one person is working on a native Node module to provide this support so they can do i2c from javascript.

For what it is worth, the author is named Jason.

Gerald

Yeah, I’ve noticed there’s a lot of us Jasons on these forums. Must be a generation thing or something ;). But anyway, the author is jdonk (Jason K).

It should also be noted that the source is out on on GitHub, just waiting for the community to enhance it through pull requests.

I’m not exactly sure what GitHub is, but I found the page and looked through some of the .js files. I think I’m in over my head at the moment. :slight_smile: I did notice one of them seemed to have a shift data function so maybe SPI implementation is not far off? I’ll try digging around some more and see if I can get something working. I’ve never used Linux before so I’m a bit overwhelmed currently. Well, if I figure anything out to get it working in javascript I’ll post back here in case there are some other total newbs like me wondering the same thing!

-Jason Jasonsmith Jasonski IV

I’m pretty much a noob too, but I have played around with Atmega chips a bit. You basically have two avenues to explore.

1. You can “bitbang” the I2C, which mean you’ll basically use the standard GPIO and emulate the I2C using software. This is probably the simpler of the two routes, but it’s less efficient in terms of hardware. If you wanted to go this route you could use the Arduino libraries as a starting point.