How to write a data file to Beaglebone from Python

I want to store a little data on the eMMC from my Python code. My program is not getting errors when I try to write a very short data file but it doesn’t actually seem to write it as I cannot read it back. I am using
f = open(‘MyFile.txt’, w)

or
f = open(’/home/debian/Desktop/MyFile.txt’, w)

or
f = open(‘MyFile.txt’, r)

or
f = open(’/home/debian/Desktop/MyFile.txt’, r)

to open the file and am not getting any errors but Python is not finding the file and I cannot find the file with a search from WinSCP.

So how to create a data file and where does it go?

Thanks,
John

I’m not a python developer, but actually have done this many times in C. So I can tell you this with certainty. This is done no different than it is done on any Linux system.

The point here is that you should go out and find any good python tutorial, that covers writing to a file, and follow it.

That’s what I figured William. As far as I can tell, I am doing the open and write and read like I have with C and as described in https://docs.python.org/2/tutorial/inputoutput.html#reading-and-writing-files. However, I am not getting any error message when I do the open for writing and do the write, just that the file is not getting created and written. It should be so straightforward but it’s not working.
John

That’s what I figured William. As far as I can tell, I am doing the open and write and read like I have with C and as described in https://docs.python.org/2/tutorial/inputoutput.html#reading-and-writing-files. However, I am not getting any error message when I do the open for writing and do the write, just that the file is not getting created and written. It should be so straightforward but it’s not working.