How tos and why fors

The subject is accurate of lacking. I’m looking for MORE information on how to get things up and running when they dont.
I’m new to this platform and I cant get anything to function except the mini-USB cable. I dont even know where to start troubleshooting. Its frustrating to say the least and I dont want to be “that guy” that hijacks every topic that touches on something similar.
The getting started guide is great if everything works but its a paperweight when it doesnt.
Where do i find information about why DHCP isnt working? Why my FTDI serial cable isnt working? how to force setups? determine if the OS is functioning? etc. etc. etc.
I dont mind reading, thats all ive been doing for the past 10 days (since buying this device), but darn if i can find any info.
Anything is appreciated at this point.
thanks

google works wonders, and unfortunately since you do not have a specific question that’s about as good as I or anyone else can do.

DHCP requires a service installed, and running at boot. A non working serial debug cable can fail for many a reason. Is it known working ? Is it 3v3 ttl ? is it connected properly ? Which Linux image are you running on the BBB ? Which init daemon are you running - systemd or sysv ?

As for anything, knowing a good bit about something goes a long way for troubleshooting. You sir, will need to become intimately familiar with Linux - Otherwise this show stops here. Also, as you can see above, there is no one solution fix for many, or even any problem on a system running Linux. Which is why you need to become familiar with it.