I think the BeagleBone Black is great! Here's what I've done with it during my first three days

Hi,

10 years ago built a robot based on the Handyboard, Four years ago I built a robot based on the Qwerk controller (arm/fpga linux based)… Two years ago I started playing around with the cheap AC3 cameras that run Node. When I read about the BeagleBone Black I though… man that would make a cool platform to build my next robot.

My hello world application … take a full spectrum rgb led from radio shack and drive it with three pwm channels. This is when I disabled the beagleBones HDMIport. There’s no need for HDMI in my application I could use the 20 GPIO lines for other stuff.

Next I took a an old 3 axis gyroscope with thermometer sold by Radio shack… A Parallax L3G4300D. I added the i2c_master node module… I can communicate with the gyro on the command line using i2cset and i2cget… I didn’t finish my application that uses the i2c_master code yet but plan to post it when done.

I picked up a cheap usb audio adapter manufactured by Sabrent from amazon. cheap as in $9.95 . It works great. My speach recognition will run on board.

Soon I’ll start working on the motor controller. I believe in accurate dead reckoning so I combine back emf, optical encoders, and an accelerometer…I process the data from all three.

this will be a robot that will go outside. gps.

There’s a lot of work to do first. I am researching to see what i2c 3.3v sonar is out there. I will be building a sonar array. i2c is perfect for that. Infrared sensors are used to detect obstacles closer than 2".

I’m not sure what I am going to use for optical tracking yet. I’m going to purchase a small usb hub to test it it’s possible to support wifi,audio, and a usb camera.