Is it possible to shutdown Main CPU but keep PRU running?

Hello there!

Is it possible to boot the Black, load a PRU binary, start it, shutdown the Main CPU again and keep a PRU Running?

Would this reduce energy consumption? Can sb. approximate by which factor?

Is it possible to start the Main System agein and read the Results or Logs from PRU work out of the memory again?

How would that look like practicle? Load PRU Program, shutdown linux distro without -h and -P arguments to keep power supply, boot distro after some time, relink to pru completion interruptevent, read the memory for results?

I’m sorry I’m not very experienced with this. I read and workesd through the Book “Exploring Beaglebone Tools and Techniques for building with embedded Linux” by Derek Molloy and found it extremly helpfull!

But I couldn’t find out about the above questions.

Thanks in advance!

Stefan

Is it possible to boot the Black, load a PRU binary, start it, shutdown the Main CPU again and keep a PRU Running?

The hardware can do this without any problem. Be sure to use a recent -ti kernel rather than a -bone kernel to ensure you have the latest power management features available. However, since it is not one of the standard power modes implemented in software, some patching or workarounds will be needed…

At face value, entering standby should in principle do almost what you’re asking: it powers down the CPU while keeping the peripheral domain powered. One issue is that it normally puts all PLLs in bypass, which means PRUSS and the L3 interconnect would be clocked at 24 MHz instead of 200 MHz. Assuming that’s not desirable, you’d either need to locate the code responsible and patch it, or have PRU reenable the PLL(s) you need after entry into standby is complete.