JTAG Header Connection

Hi,
I have tried to solder my BBB with Jtag Connector on my own. But while soldering, the copper pads from Pin 3 and 5 came off from the BBB header. How can I fix it?
Can anyone help me out please? I am new to electronics…

It cannot be fixed if you rip pads off the board.

Gerald

Hi,
I have tried to solder my BBB with Jtag Connector on my own. But while soldering, the copper pads from Pin 3 and 5 came off from the BBB header. How can I fix it?
Can anyone help me out please? I am new to electronics…

Those are two important pins. Soldering these SMD connectors to the board is pretty simple and the PCB is good quality so I don’t understand how you could pull off those pads. There are plenty of examples of PCB repairs and installing SMD connectors on youtube. Looking at the board, I think it is going to be extremely difficult to repair those pads without a decent stereoscope and fine pitch soldering iron.

Regards,
John

PCB is good quality so I don’t understand how you could pull off those pads.

PCB is good quality so I don’t understand how you could pull off those pads.

If I use regular solder and not solder paste, then normally I apply solder flux to the PCB pads and connector pins; then I apply solder to each pin; not worried about solder bridges between pins at this point; but I do this quite quickly. Next I use solder wick to remove any access solder/bridges. Clean with alcohol using a small brush and voila I have a perfectly installed SMD connector. Not sure why the OP kept heat on those two pins until they peeled off the PCB.

Regards,
John

I know how to solder fairly decently, but if it was not for my buddy wulfman who has been an EE for 35 + years( qnd started out reworking / fixing PCB’s ), I might not have known about using plenty of flux when soldering / desoldering.