Large Arrays in DDR via PRU. Does prussdrv_map_extmem() always give contiguous physical addresses?

Hi,

I’ve got PRU0 of my BBB pulling in 12 Bytes of data from a ADC with a sampling frequency of 31250hz.

I want to stash all of this data in an array that lives in DDR memory. I would like to make the array 0x4000 bytes (16kB) large. This would give me 1365 12 byte records and about 43ms of data to play with.

I’m currently using prussdrv_map_extmem() to hook me up with the DDR memory. It provides me with a memory block that is 256kB, so I have plenty of room.

The question I have is… can I count on the physical address in this 256kB block of memory to be contiguous?

I’m pretty new to linux memory management, but I see that the “page size” is only 4kB… so I imagine that the virtual memory system might chop my 256kB block up into bits which might not necessarily have contiguous addresses.

If I can count on contiguous addresses, this radically simplifies the memory access code in the PRU. If I can’t… well, then I can’t, and I’ve got to figure something else out.

When I run experiments I see that the physical addresses are contiguous, but are they guaranteed to be? or has this just been “lucky”?

Thanks,

Bill

When I run experiments I see that the physical addresses are contiguous, but are they guaranteed to be? or has this just been “lucky”?

If memory serves, I think they have to be. But, if as you say you’ve tested and they’ve come up contiguous already, then I’m very sure this can not change. Not unless they memory is somehow freed using free(), and I do not think that is possible . . .

I have been using the BeagleBone PRU and have been accessing and mapping memory this way and thus far it seems as though it is one contiguous address. I am relatively new to Beaglebone so maybe one of the more experienced may want to step in on this one.