Leopard Imaging Camera Module and Angstrom

Good afternoon.

I’m just getting started with the Beagleboard XM (having just conquered GPIO), I’m, in the process of moving to the next peripheral I want to tackle, which is the Leopard Imaging camera port. I have a Leopard Imaging VGA camera, and I would like to do the imaging equivalent of “Hello World”, that is, snapping a picture and either putting the data in a file or making a simple QT program to show the image. That being said, I’m not sure exactly where the best spot to start is on the camera module. Is there a tutorial online or other information available on the device drivers? I was able to find on one blog that I should see a /dev/video directory, but I’m not seeing that on my Angstrom distro, which leads me to believe I need to install a driver in my kernel before I can use the camera. I have angstrom 2011.03 revision 61a4492 installed if that makes any difference.

Many thanks for the beginners help.

Walt

1. What is the name of the Lepoard Board module, and more importantly, what is the model number of the sensor chip on the board.

2. Lepoard board modules typically used cameras from Omnivision and Aptina. while Omnivision is cheaper typically, I can tell you that support is not as good as that provided by Aptina and I would almost go and buy an Aptina module (http://de.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Leopard-Imaging/LI-5M03/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMuNcqZxhMNT3xU%2fJCqdw3Mn).

3. Here is a good blog that I’m following to get the camera up and running, http://blog.galemin.com/2011/04/li-5m03-camera-on-beagleboard-xm/

The model number is LI-LBCMVGA. I can’t really see a model number on the sensor. Probably on the back attached to the board.