Looking for recommendation for BBB cross-compile toolchain and IDE for Windows

Hi,

I’m new in development for BeagleBone Black.
Can you, please, recommend good cross-compile toolchain and IDE for Windows ?

Thanks in advance

For which programming language(s) ?

Which OS will you be running on the BBB?

— Graham

BBB runs Debian 7
For C++/C

My personal favorite C/C++ IDE is Eclipse, with the C/C++ Development and Remote System Explorer (RSE) environment packages. I use the GCC cross compiler.

A reference on how to set this up, although needing some updating, due to newer current versions of Debian and Eclipse, is Derek Molloy’s book, website, and youtube videos.

Since the target system is Linux/Debian, things will run a lot smoother if you run Eclipse and the appropriate GCC cross compiler under Linux, rather than Windows. I use either a separate computer running Ubuntu, or Ubuntu running on a VM under Windows.

Setting up Eclipse on the Beaglebone for C++ Development …
http://derekmolloy.ie/beaglebone/setting-up-eclipse-on-the-beaglebone-for-c-development/
by Derek Molloy

Google: Eclipse, beaglebone, RSE, GCC ARM Crosscompiler

— Graham

Since no one addressed the question, but instead talked arounf it . . .

The only known( at least to me ) toolchain for the armhf software ABI, and WIndows binaries is offered by Linaro.

https://releases.linaro.org/14.11/components/toolchain/binaries/

Here is you read the release notes text it says which are Windows binaries. But since mingw is not required for Linux, you can pretty much rest assured that any toolchain with “mingw” in the file name is in reference to Windows binaries.

As for IDE’s . . . The two most flexible for setting up with a Custom toolchain would be Code::Blocks, and Eclipse. Personally, I prefer Code::Blocks because it’s run as a native executable versus Eclipes’ JRE requirement . . .

Just remember, you only want a tool chain that is abihf ( ARMv7 ) compatible.