Mapping BBB as a Drive on Windows &

Hi All,

I would like to map my BBB Linux file system as a drive under windows. I have managed to do this quite easily on Ubuntu, but struggling on Windows.

It is really handy to do all file editing / backing up code on the host machine.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Andy

Assuming you are using Samba, it should work. Can you access it via “network neighborhood” on Windows? If you can’t that explains why Map Drive won’t work either. I also recall getting much better error messages when connecting through network neighborhood.

One thing that sometimes trips me up, is that at least with the older versions of Windows I’ve used (7 & older) the Workgroups have to match on both machines. I also recall having issues with the Windows 7 “Home Group” settings.

I’ve zero experience with Windows 8 and newer.

If you are networking your Windows machine and your BBB with the “USB Ethernet gadget” connection there may be issues there, see if the BBB on a wired Ethernet connection can mount on your Windows box.

How I do this is share an NFS share from Linux, and then map the driver in Windows. To do this, I use an intermediary Debian system, which provides the NFS share, from which the beaglebone simply mounts this NFS share. The intermediary system also shares the same directory out to the Windows system via Samba. Which makes it very easy to write code “remotely” on the Windows, for the beaglebone. Then of course I simply compile locally to the beaglebone using gcc.

You could even setup A Samba server on the beaglebone directly, but the problem with that. Is that the shared Media will be flash media.

I suppose another option on the beaglebone, would be to create a tmpfs, and then share that out via Samba. It could not be much bigger than 256M in size, but It could work.

I am using the USB IP direct connection between my BBB and PC.

Hi
If u mount a linux file system in Windows (eg with samba AKA cifs)