Need help with building Kernel Model for Angstrom + BeagleBoard

Hi,
I am learning building driver for BeagleBoard, but I am just a beginner. Currently I try to follow the Linux Device Driver book to build the kernel model for Angstrom. One thing I don’t know is where and how I should get the kernel tree specify for Angstrom and Beagleboard?
Thank you for your time reading and answering my question.
I am sorry if I post in the wrong email group, in that case please tell me where I should post the question.
Best regards,
Thang Nguyen

I have just already built and run the image X11-image for Beagleboard as well as build and run a simple program such as Hello World to run on Beagleboard.

In the building kernel module, they write I need the kernel source to build it. As I understand, I need to get a kernel source with specific patches for Anstrom and Beagleboard. I don’t sure where I can get this.

Best regards,
Thang Nguyen

If you build using openembedded, I think the kernel source is in one of the directories inside $OEBASE/tmp/work/

Hope that helps :slight_smile:

Thanh

— On Fri, 4/3/09, Thang Nguyen airthang@gmail.com wrote:

> From: Thang Nguyen airthang@gmail.com
> Subject: [beagleboard] Re: Need help with building Kernel Model for Angstrom + BeagleBoard
> To: beagleboard@googlegroups.com
> Date: Friday, April 3, 2009, 10:52 PM
>
> I have just already built and run the image X11-image for Beagleboard as well as build and run a simple program such as Hello World to run on Beagleboard.
>
> In the building kernel module, they write I need the kernel source to build it. As I understand, I need to get a kernel source with specific patches for Anstrom and Beagleboard. I don’t sure where I can get this.
>
> Best regards,
> Thang Nguyen

|

Hi Thanh,
Thank you so much for your help.
After looking at the folder you told me I found some sub directories:

• all-angstrom-linux-gnueabi
  • armv7a-angstrom-linux-gnueabi
  • beagleboard-angstrom-linux-gnueabi
  • i686-linux