(newbie)Help with Beagleboard C5. (porting RTK(GPS software to BB)

Hi guys,

i am new to embedded programming and have been trying to port a software(RTKLIB) from http://gpspp.sakura.ne.jp/rtklib/rtklib_beagleboard.htm by following the instructions into beagleBoard. i am literally stuck at this:

(2) Download prebuilt Linux kernel and install it to the fat32 partition of SD card
Get stable version: 2.6.29-oer34
$ wget http://www.rcn-ee.com/deb/kernel/beagle/lenny/v2.6.29-58cf2f1-oer34/uImage
$ copy uImage /media/disk-1
$ sudo umount /media/disk-1

which gives me uImage not found from the following website. Is there any other prebuilt linux kernal i can use? I would like to learn more about linux embedded systems and would appreciate if someone could direct me to any good resources/materials. Help is much appreciated.

Ram

Wow, that's one set of old directions... Don't waste any time with 2.6.29...

95% of those directions can be replaced by just using the demo image here:

http://elinux.org/BeagleBoardUbuntu#Demo_Image

Regards,

Hi Robert,

Thanks for the info. All i shld be doing is follow method one to get the demo image but this is the error im getting when installing git as my ubuntu says connection failed [IP: 91.189.92.151.80] and the error message says unable to fetch some archives, mayb run apt-get update… ive been trying to install git packages but it keeps giving me this error. Is this cos im using my Uni’s wifi/server or…

Regards,

Raj

hi Robert,

after builting "./buid_kernel.sh, shld i copy this to my sd card or what is the next step, this is relatively my first time working with linux commands and i feel like a lost child. Please help!

I'd try "sudo apt-get update"/"sudo apt-get clean" but it sounds like
you need to talk to your university's IT as they maybe blocking you or
something..

btw, git-core is installed by default, so you should be able to easily
"git clone something"

Regards,