Newbie questions on general complier usage with BBB

We have (3) three of the following for our testing…

• Beagle Bone Black
  • Rev C.
  • Debian 7.5-2014-05-14
    and we have used the following on the BBB while experimenting with them…
  • BoneScript
  • Python
  • JavaScript
  • Cloud9 IDE
    We also have picked up a few books and read through and worked with many of the examples i.e. “Getting Started with BeagleBone” by Matt Richardson etc. All of this has worked very well for us, but it just seams a bit like a “toy” at this level.

I still feel very ignorant with the BBB. My background is 20+ years of Microchip. Complete layout of circuit boards built from the ground up. Complied program (with full debug IDE). We used MPLAB and programmers like an ICD to load and run the program on the Microchip.

We would like to take our product to the next level (15 year old design), and it appears a TI ARM is the way to go. And it appears a test board like BBB is a great starting point. Reading the TI AM335x Sitara Processor product data sheet over the AM335x can do (from a hardware level) most anything that we are accustom to with the Microchip series of products (Hardware Uart, SPI, Capture Inputs, PWM, Interrupts (hardware and software) etc.).

So the very ignorant questions…

1. How do you load an image on a blank BBB?
  2. Are there stand alone compliers, where you can developed a program that will run natively on the Debian OS? Not an interpreted version of the program, but an actual complied to machine code language, one that can handle the hardware specific to the BBB?
  3. Can a complier handle tasks with functions like button de-bounce, or more complex functions like capture with the eCAP?
  4. Is the Code Composer Studio (CCS) what we need to be looking at? http://www.ti.com/tool/ccstudio-sitara Will this work on the BBB?

Thank you,

Confused, Rodney

Rodney:

A.) This is not your grandfather’s PIC.