Off-Grid Beaglebone Camera

Hi all. I’m working on a new project. The idea is an off-grid surveillance camera powered by the Beaglebone Black. I have a couple of challenged that I’m wondering if anyone has overcome.

• I’m planning to transmit the photos via a cellular modem. I’m looking for a good one currently, but I know several USB versions are available.

• I will power the device with a solar panel, sealed lead acid battery, and a buck converter.

• I am planning to use an HD webcam to capture the photos.

Now these are the challenges that I’m working on:

• I have no experience with set-it-and-forget-it electronics. What pitfalls should I watch out for that could cause the system to hang or malfunction?

• The Beaglebone Black draws about 150mA when idle. Although I can overcome this with larger batteries and solar panels, I would like to minimize these expenses. I’ve read several posts where people are trying to disable certain features on the Beaglebone to conserve energy, but I have yet to see any successful examples. Is anyone aware of ways to reduce power consumption?

• I would like to shutdown the Beaglebone when the battery voltage gets below a certain point and turn it back on when above a certain point. Are there any pre-made capes that will enable this?

Thank you!

Hi all. I'm working on a new project. The idea is an off-grid surveillance
camera powered by the Beaglebone Black. I have a couple of challenged that
I'm wondering if anyone has overcome.

- I'm planning to transmit the photos via a cellular modem. I'm looking for
a good one currently, but I know several USB versions are available.

Every usb device is guaranteed 100mA, so look for spi/usart modems.
(they do exist)

- I will power the device with a solar panel, sealed lead acid battery, and
a buck converter.

A small bank of super caps becomes helpful when there is random cloud cover.

- I am planning to use an HD webcam to capture the photos.