OpenEmbedded Angstrom distro version inconsistency?


A few days ago, I decided to have a go at compiling a kernel for my BeagleBoard. Using a laptop running Ubuntu 12.04, I followed the guides at, and the output:

MACHINE=beagleboard ./ config beagleboard

MACHINE=beagleboard ./ update

. ~/.oe/environment-oecore

bitbake virtual/kernel

I noticed that my console showed the following OE Build Configuration (first few lines):

BB_VERSION = “1.15.1”


TARGET_OS = “linux-gnueabi”

MACHINE = “beagleboard”
DISTRO = “angstrom”

DISTRO_VERSION = “v2012.03-core”

However, in [setup-scripts]/conf/local.conf, there is this line:

DISTRO = “angstrom-2010.x”

…and in [setup-scripts]/conf/site.conf, there is:

TMPDIR = “[setup-scripts]/build/tmp-angstrom_2010_x”


  1. Am I building for the 2010.x or 2012.03 version of Angstrom?
  2. What’s the difference between Angstrom version, and OpenEmbedded version? (this post suggests to me that there’s a difference)
  3. I’m developing BeagleBoard software based on the 2011.03 feed rather than the core feed. However, the 2011.03 feed is based on GLIBC (the EGLIBC and UCLIBC directories are empty), and I noticed that bitbake-ing the kernel involves EGLIBC packages. Will this be an issue?
  4. If (3) is an issue, how can I get bitbake (or is it more correct to say OE?) to use build older kernel?
    Hope that’s not too many questions in 1 post… thanks in advance.