Porting beaglebone's USB based bootloader from C to javascript:GSOC 2017

Greetings,

This is with respect to becoming a student contributor to the beaglebone community.

My name is Udit Kumar Agarwal (IRC NICK: uka_in). I am currently in my second year of engineering ,pursuing Electronics. I am proficient with embedded C ,C++ ,Python , Java , php, JavaScript and Linux kernel.

Being interested in contributing towards GSOC 2017, I referred the Idea page and the project “Porting Beagle Bone’s USB based boot loader from c to JavaScript” particularly interests me. I tried to make an outline of what we will be doing under the task, but have some initial doubts and queries which are as follows:

1. BBBlfs being able to put BBB into USB mass storage mode,are we simply going to run BBBlfs’s scripts via .js?(If so, then how can it be cross platformed?)
    OR
    After claiming bbb’s RNDIS interface via Node.js, are we going to use BBBlfs scripts to convert .xz image file into a binary blob, and then load it via Node.js?(If so, then can we add compatibility for more compression types other then .xz?).

2. Does this task require kernel cross compiling?

Please excuse any baseless assumption/question on my part(I am still a beginner,trying to correlate stuff!!)

Any rectification/support regarding this task would be extremely helpful.

yours faithfully,

Udit Kumar Agarwal
(uditagarwal1997@gmail.com)

Greetings,

This is with respect to becoming a student contributor to the beaglebone community.

My name is Udit Kumar Agarwal (IRC NICK: uka_in). I am currently in my second year of engineering ,pursuing Electronics. I am proficient with embedded C ,C++ ,Python , Java , php, JavaScript and Linux kernel.