programming BBB - choice of language

Hello All

I’m starting to design a commercial project which will use a number of networked BBB’s as process controllers. While I"m an experienced DP guy, I"m an absolute newbie with the BBB hardware and software.

I’m at the point of choosing a language in which the applications will be written. The main application will be a no-user, stand-alone, repetitive data-processing application, so I want a language with the following characteristics :

1. high level

2. procedural

3. modular - high cohesion and low coupling

4. non-object oriented

5. strong array processing

6. runs under Linux

7. compilable

My research tells me that Python is the most-used high-level language within the BBB community, but it fails ( at least somewhat ) on several of the above requirements.

My research tells me that XBasic ( which satisfies all of the above ) doesn’t seem to be much used within the BBB community.

My Questions, therefore are :

A - XBasic is said to run under Linux - does anyone know of a reason why it would not work on the BBB ?

B - am I missing something profoundly wrong with XBasic which precludes its use ?

thanks very much for taking your time to help me out

richard

It’s a bit of an contradiction for me that you ask for modularity but don’t want an object based language.
Development of XBasic seems to have stopped about 2002. The community that could help you will be rather small.
Much of the documentation is not available anymore. I can only assume that this is an interpreter language as most of the basic dialects (although sourceforge category is ‘compiler’). This means you would need to compile the interpreter sourcecode for the ARM before you can use it.
I would recommend a more recent language with a bigger community. I never needed any other language than C++. Here and than I thought I need to learn java, but than I never needed it.