Project based off the Pocket Beagle - Boot Configuration Help

Hello, I am currently working on a project based on the pocket beagle. For my project, I had an experienced friend design and fabricate a custom board based on the pocket beagle to suit my purpose using the schematics and files on Github, nearly everything is identical except for the following changes: Removed all GPIO pins (unnecessary space), and replaced the microUSB connector with a male USB 2.0 connector(so that the board could be directly connected to a computer without a cable. Everything else was untouched and I used the exact same parts as the Pocket Beagle. I am trying to boot it with the latest Pocket Beagle Debian image however unable to do so because of the hardware change(I’m assuming). This is my first time working with something like this (I’m a software guy) so I apologize if I have a lack of knowledge about some aspects with regards to hardware. What do I have to do to be able to boot the Pocket Beagle’s Debian image on it? Originally I thought that because the hardware change was so minimal it should be able to boot the pocket beagle’s images. However, I realized that there is probably gonna be problems with regards to hardware id and such. Thanks, and I would appreciate any help.

If that were the only change and there were no hardware changes and the eeprom is configured, it should boot. Debugging hardware problems or anything before boot absolutely requires the serial connection on ttyS0. You’ll find plenty of posts here or elsewhere about such a cable.