PRU Beginner Questions (2)

Hello,

I’m a beginner learning about PRU with a couple of questions. I’ve been using as reference:

Questions:

1. Default firmware for PRU0/1:

root@beaglebone:~# cat /sys/class/remoteproc/remoteproc*/firmware

am335x-pm-firmware.elf

am335x-pru0-fw

am335x-pru1-fw

root@beaglebone:~# find / -name am335x-pru?-fw

/lib/firmware/am335x-pru0-fw

/lib/firmware/am335x-pru1-fw

What do these programs do? I haven’t found any source code to explain what is inside. I think the files come from TI (compiled form), but what happens if I

echo start > state for the default firmware? Seems strange to have this as the default with no clues about what is inside.

1. What is the source for the __R30 pin configurations (default?. Fresh boot =>

root@beaglebone:~# cat /sys/kernel/debug/remoteproc/remoteproc1/regs | grep "GPREG30 "

GPREG30 := 0xd233c9c3 CT_REG30 := 0x40000000

I’ve looked in:

U-Boot, am335x-boneblack-uboot, cape_universal, AM335X-PRU-RPROC-4-14-TI-00A0 and googled around but can’t find anything that looks like it sets __R30 at boot.

With a LED connected to P9-27, P9-28, P9-29:

config-pin P9-27 pruout => LED is low

config-pin P9-28 pruout => LED is high

For me, it seems strange that some pins would be high by “default”. What is setting these values as high???

Many thanks in advance for any clues.

Hello,

I’m a beginner learning about PRU with a couple of questions. I’ve been using as reference:

Questions:

1. Default firmware for PRU0/1:

root@beaglebone:~# cat /sys/class/remoteproc/remoteproc*/firmware

am335x-pm-firmware.elf

am335x-pru0-fw

am335x-pru1-fw

root@beaglebone:~# find / -name am335x-pru?-fw

/lib/firmware/am335x-pru0-fw

/lib/firmware/am335x-pru1-fw

What do these programs do? I haven’t found any source code to explain what is inside. I think the files come from TI (compiled form), but what happens if I