push button on 7-inch touch screen to send some strings through the serial port.

Dear all,

I’m a complete newbie in this community. As a postdoc, I’m responsible of building a off-computer control system. I decided to use BeagleBone as the central controller. But since I have other academic jobs, I wish I could finish the project quick and dirty. So maybe I need some specific guidance on it.

Now for the first version of the system, my idea is just have two buttons appearing the touch screen and when I press either of the buttons, the BBB will send out a string through the serial port. I have another device waiting for the string command to trigger some control, so the rest is already ready.

I think this is rather easy, isn’t it? But I spent about a whole day today trying to figure out how to send the string out, and still cannot be successful. Not to mention the touchscreen part. I have experience in Matlab and LabVIEW programming, a little C experience, no Javascript or Python, and now I have a BBB, a 7-inch touch screen, a USB cable, and a 5V 3A power supply. I can make the serial port with connectors to the board with no difficulty. I have tried to boot the board with the 5 power supply and the LCD screen hooked up, and I could see the operating system. So could anyone tell me how to step into this field with a relatively quicker method? Thanks!

Sincerely,
Henry

did you want to use soft buttons (buttons generated on the touchscreen as needed in software) or hard buttons (buttons on the display that consist of an actual hardware switch that causes a detectable contact closure) for this? For the soft buttons I’d look at Qt. For the hard buttons, look at how the beagle can edge detect an input and generate an interrupt based upon that. I’d be happy to look a bit further once you have an idea which direction you want to go.

Eric