Python script stops reading serial port after several days

Hi everyone!

I’ve got my BBB rev. C set up as a data logger for a serial data stream from an Arduino. It basically takes this data, uploads it to xively, and checks certain values for exceeded thresholds and sends an email if found. This works fine. However, after the script has been running for several days, it stops working. The script itself seems to continue running, but it stops acknowledging that it’s receiving any data or trying to upload to xively. If I ctrl+c out of the script and restart it, it starts working fine again. The device it’s connected to continues to work properly regardless of whether the BBB is logging anything, so I don’t believe that the problem is with it.

Is there any way to determine where the problem lies? (BBB, python, etc.?) Here’s a copy of my code (please don’t mock it too much, I’m a Python noob) :
http://susepaste.org/399d9d1f

(This is what the data looks like if it makes any difference:
2014-08-31 20:51:38.841985
91,h,44

2014-08-31 20:51:40.063139
92,t,72

2014-08-31 20:51:44.727206
92,h,42

2014-08-31 20:51:45.463794
90,t,71

2014-08-31 20:52:17.112091
90,h,44

…)

I’ve Googled around, and haven’t really found anything regarding something like this. There were a couple of random bulletin board posts that seemed similar, but they all went off into no-answer-land.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Hi Chris,

I don't think the problem is related to the serial port itself. I have a python code that uses 4 serial ports of BBB (tty01, tty02, tty04, tty05) running without any problem for months.

I saw your code. If it reaches the "Dropping out due to an error: ", I don't think it will keep running.

Use the logging module to write to a file when there is an exception:
https://docs.python.org/2/howto/logging.html