R or Python cross compiler for beaglebone

I want to implement machine learning algorithm in Beaglebone(ARM). So I need to build a cross-compiler for R(preferably) or python in my system(Ubuntu / windows). I am very new to this topic “cross-compiler”. A stepwise instruction to build the cross-compiler and how to run a sample code using cross-compiler will be much appreciated.Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

On Tue, 16 Feb 2016 05:37:30 -0800 (PST),
fiem.arghyaxyz@gmail.com declaimed the
following:

I want to implement machine learning algorithm in Beaglebone(ARM). So I
need to build a cross-compiler for R(preferably) or python in my
system(Ubuntu / windows). I am very new to this topic "cross-compiler". A
stepwise instruction to *build the cross-compiler* and *how to run a sample
code using cross-compiler* will be much appreciated.Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

The first thing to understand is that normally Python is a byte-code
interpreted language, which "compiles" the source to byte-code when the
program is executed. The only need for a "cross-compiler" might be if you
are trying to build /extension libraries/ using the C language that have to
run on a different target.

Python, itself, is already installed on the BBB.

I don't have enough experience with the R system, but suspect it is
similar -- most scripts are in source form, so one would just need to get
the R interpreter/run-time installed on the BB (and that might be available
via package manager). It again would be extensions written in C or such
that might need compiling for a target.

Thank you for replying.