Security when connecting autonomous BB to the Internet

I’m connecting a BB to the internet and want to make sure it is relatively secure. Things like Cloud9, BoneScript, and root default password are all things that might leave open security holes.

I’m no Unix expert so I’ll pose the question here. Can anyone point me to a guide for what I should do to make the BB secure for long term autonomous connection to the Internet?

Well, that's a difficult question. You connect it to the Internet so
that it's capable of performing certain functions that you want, but
you want to secure it so that it will not do anything that you don't
want. The best approach, then, is to rigorously specify what's
allowed and what's not, and implement controls that match this spec.
You have several tools in your disposal:

- you can set up an independent firewall in front of your device: if
your device is on a home/ISP network you probably have a router that
already implements that.

- the BBB can run the Linux firewall (iptables) that control the
network traffic into and out of your device

- if your requirements can be met by your BBB always originating
traffic, things are easier: both iptables and ISP router firewalls
support outgoing connections out of the box, and your BBB is in
control of the traffic. You have to pay attention to DNS---DNS
spoofing is the principal vulnerability for this kind of setup

- if you need to connect to the BBB from the outside, you want to
limit the open ports and implement it in a cryptographically secure
way, by using SSH/SSL/TLS or IPsec. This is tricky to get right,
because there's always a possibility of vulnerabilities like
Heartbleed

A good term to google for is "hardening a Debian server."

There are many articles and several good books for people with various
backgrounds.

Before you can "hardening a Debian server" you have to make a "normal"
Debian Server out of it...

Login as root in the terminal (e.g. with putty from a win machine):