Serial Terminal Server and PRU project

Hello everyone,

my name is Giorgio Gross (Nick: ordsen). I’m a second year undergraduate studying computer sciences in Germany. I’m new to embedded systems but I aim to hear more lectures on this topic and regard GSoC as a possibility to dive in even deeper. That’s one of the reasons I would like to work with you. I have been using mainly Java, C#, JS, PHP and C, although I learned many new skills in C during the current term. I published some of my projects on GitHub. Both the „PRUs to offload processing of raw data from on-board Peripherals“ and the „BeagleBone-based Serial Terminal Server“ projects catched my attention. I intend to apply for the latter as it is my favorite.

I created a pull request at the gsoc-application repo and checked the file type of the compiled binary. My terminal tells me it is compiled for 32Bit ARM CPUs, I also tested it with qemu but I would be glad if someone reviews it and tells me if there is something missing. I also set up a blog which I will use to summarize my thoughts about the GSoC project as time permits. Regarding the Serial Terminal project I have the following thoughts and questions:

1) Initially I had some problems understanding the task for the Serial Terminal Server project. maciejjo had some valuable input on IRC for me which helped me to outline the basic Idea and goals of the project. During my first research I found Minicom to be worth investigating for establishing the connection to the BB, although there might be more appropriate tools. The project description states that connecting to the BB will happen through SSH. As far as I know, telnet is used to connect to serial terminal server, so why change to SSH?