servo?

I am new to bonescript having just received my beaglebone black. I am trying to drive a servo but I can not seem to figure out what to do. I can use PWM to fade an LED but I can’t get the servo to respond. Does anyone know how to drive a servo with a beaglebone black and bonescript?

Thanks!

What Hardware driver are you using to drive the servo? What is the voltage on the servo?

Gerald

JR SERVO
NES-505

5V on the red wire from BeagleBone Black. Brown wire to the ground on the BBB. Orange wire to ‘P8_13’

I am using an analogWrite(‘P8_13’,0.5,200);

I have read that servos typicly use 200 Hz but might use as low as 50 Hz which I have tried. I know the analogWrite takes a 0 - 1 value for the second augment but I don’t even know how that will translate to angle for the servo.

OK. So, basically I figure you may have 2-3 more tries before the processor blows up. The processor is 3.3V max and the I/O pins cannot sink enough current to make the servo turn. Having 5V on the pins will damage the processor. You need a driver between the processor and the servo.

Gerald

I will have to look up what you are referring to about a driver. I am using the 5v from the BBB pin P9_5. Will it work using the P9_3 (3.3V)?
I have used the Arduino a lot and the typical setup is power and ground from the board to the servo and then the signal of the servo connected to a PWM pin. That was what I was expecting with the BBB and it’s PWM. Is there an example online or a tutorial?

No it will not work. that is what I am trying to say. You need a driver that will drive the servo lay and can stand the 5V current. Take a look at the LED drivers on the BeagleBone Black schematic. The right transistor in a similar configuration can control the servo.

Here is information on what the limits of the board expansion headers are. Voltage is 3.3V max.

http://circuitco.com/support/index.php?title=BeagleBoneBlack#Expansion_Header_Usage