Slidshow no longer works and cannot debug with Cloud9

Hi there!

I just started playing with a BeagleBone I’ve had lying around for a little while.

I have some (not much) experience with linux, but mainly Ubuntu, and have never played with anything quite like this.

I got everything installed as needed. I plugged in the Beaglebone, ejected it from within Windows Explorer and navigated to 192.168.7.2, as per the instructions found here. I start going through the little slideshow, which I find quite informative. I get to the slide which has links to blink the LEDs in it. They work. Awesome. I get to the slide with link to Cloud9 and something else. I click the Cloud9 link, expecting it to open in a new tab. It doesn’t. Whatever. I go through the tour and then try to go back to the slideshow. It doesn’t work anymore and tells me that “index.html” doesn’t exist. I try in firefox (I was in chrome). Still doesn’t work. Cloud9 does, though.

I reboot. The slideshow still doesn’t doesn’t work, but this time I don’t even get a message about “index.html” not existing. I wonder what does/doesn’t work, so I open up Cloud9. Everything seems ok. I try to plug in the sample code from the link I mentioned previously and run it as described. Doesn’t work. I use Putty and log in. I can turn the LEDs on and off by echo-ing 0 or 1 to the appropriate files, but nothing from within Cloud9.

Then I tell myself that perhaps the slideshow was being served up using Node. The led blinking example was in JS, so perhaps there is a problem with node and that’s why I’m not getting anything. I have a bit of background in web development (Apache/PHP/MySQL, specifically) but do not know how Node works. It seems to run correctly when I run “node” from the shell, but I assume there needs to be a particular instance of it running to serve up/run the stuff from Cloud9 and the slideshow?

Anyway, I just want to start fiddling.

Is there something I’m missing? Is this normal? Or should I re-image?