Slim factor LCD for the B

Hi!

So I’m pretty new to whole BB idea, which I find really awesome.
I’ve bought myself a BBB and have come up with a great idea for it, BUT… for this idea to work - I need a really slim LCD (possibly a smartphone LCD - 720p MAX), so most of the converters are out of the question, even Chalkboard Electronics board.

So, naturally I’ve started to research this question, but since I have no experience in working with LCDs, some guidance is required:

1. So far, my research led me to believe, that the best way of creating the slimmest design in these conditions is - getting a plain LCD and hook it up to my BBB’s HDMI output through a TI TFP401 chip, so as not to use any GPIOs. Is this correct?
  2. I’ve found some info about a LCD driver chip, but no mentions as to, what it does. Can you please explain this to me and give me some example chips (that are relevant for use)?
  3. Also, I would like to have an EDID option on this display, so as not to have resolution problems. But I can’t figure out - how to generate it and how it should be interfaced with my board?

Thank you, in advance.

P.S. If you can give me some valid links about my questions, that would be really awesome.

Greetings,

Hi!

So I’m pretty new to whole BB idea, which I find really awesome.
I’ve bought myself a BBB and have come up with a great idea for it, BUT… for this idea to work - I need a really slim LCD (possibly a smartphone LCD - 720p MAX), so most of the converters are out of the question, even Chalkboard Electronics board.

just as a start, the boards you have seen out there are not “converters”, they are simple transition boards that allows the parallel display data signals to be connected to a TFT LCD.

So, naturally I’ve started to research this question, but since I have no experience in working with LCDs, some guidance is required: