Snappy Ubuntu Core

I’ve read a bit about the new kid on the block, which is a new small Ubuntu Core, packaged with a new package manager that they have named Snappy. There is some newish looking support for all of this too through core updates and easy rollback capability. Apparently Beaglebone.org is one of their “partners” (?) in some way. The early Snappy Ubuntu Core PR talks about the Beaglebone Black being supported, and other articles point out that it will not run on the Raspberry Pi. I’m very new to BBB and Linux, so I would appreciate any early thoughts from the regulars here as to what advantages (and potential problems) would come from moving from debian to this new Ubuntu distro, and what sort of support (GPIO etc.) is likely already in place … or is it something that we’ll likely to have to wait for.

Here’s one of many links out there to a much better overview than I have just offered. http://postscapes.com/ubuntu-internet-of-things-os-snappy-core

Bob

I’ve read a bit about the new kid on the block, which is a new small Ubuntu Core, packaged with a new package manager that they have named Snappy. There is some newish looking support for all of this too through core updates and easy rollback capability. Apparently Beaglebone.org is one of their “partners” (?) in some way.

BeagleBoard.org and Ubuntu mostly agree it is a cool thing to promote. Ubuntu has great brand recognition as a Linux solution provider and BeagleBone Black is readily available and established as a popular open hardware platform, perhaps the most popular open hardware Linux platform out there. There is a bit of technical support each way as well, but no plans to replace the Black out-of-box experience or anything like that at this time. It isn’t exclusive or anything like that either. It is mostly that we each recognize the value of the solutions provided by the other and seek to help each other out.